Happy Back to the Future Day!

October 21, 2015. The day Marty and Jen arrive in their future with Doc.

Tons of people will be celebrating this “auspicious” day, and posting about it, tweeting about it, remembering the BTTF franchise…

I will admit, Back to the Future is my go to answer to “What’s your favourite movie?” You’ve got the mad scientist, the kid, the car, the stakes, the romance, the comedy, the “feels” …

“Maybe one day you’ll write something like that,” people tell me. Maybe. I wish! But at the same time, I don’t really feel like that’s the goal.

Writing for fame, writing for “success,” writing for the market… that’s the fast lane to hating what you love. Writing for the grade, the reward… you miss the point. Writing is the reward. For the record, I have no idea where this post is going. Call it a warm up/productive procrastination for the work I should be doing, writing. Wait, what? But I just said– yes, I know. Oh the paradoxes of life and the universe.

It’s a peculiar thing. I love writing. I have an assignment to write. I don’t want to write. So to procrastinate, I write. Because I love writing. I don’t get it either.

Timey-wimey? No, wait.

Welp. Better get writing, it’s time my writing got better. Maybe when I’m not as brain dead I’ll come back and put something a bit more substantial to this post… and no one will be the wiser…

OR– if ever I get to time travel, you’ll know it because I’ll come back to this moment and make something happen on this post.

Man, today would’ve been the perfect day to run into a store downtown, ask what year it is, and then run out screaming, “it worked!” Or better yet, “Great Scott!”

Oh well. Maybe when I revisit this day. Maybe I already have.

1100

4 thoughts on “Happy Back to the Future Day!

  1. Well, I’ve been exposed to more stories lately where reality tends to collapse when time gets manipulated or travelled through, resulting in tons of pain and suffering, so I just had some more paranoia of the whole thing put into me currently…

    Like

    • Unfortunately pain and suffering has followed the human condition since The Fall… so if it is an indicator of the space time continuum falling apart, we wouldn’t know it by time traveling to any point in human history. Except of course if The Fall is where everything went wrong… which it is. 😛 Get your head around that one…

      Like

      • In the end, though, if it comes to alternate timelines, I’m more for the soul(s) of all versions of a person joining together at the end of their lives, instead of hating each other or being so distant and unreachable, and all timelines uniting together in some sort of singularity – something like the New Heaven and New Earth at the End of the Age, where despite all the pain, suffering, loss, what ifs and what could have beens, everything can finally be alright.

        Like

Leave a Reply

