Undeserving

Re-post. Amazing Grace.


In the world’s eyes, I’m a pretty good person. I’m nice, I don’t swear or do drugs or alcohol, I get good grades, hang out with the right crowd, etc. etc.

But in God’s eyes, I am a wretch. I am a criminal, disobedient to the law: God’s law.
Have I lied? Yes.
Have I stolen something, regardless of its value? Yes.
The Bible says that he who lusts is an adulterer at heart. Have I looked lustfully upon someone? Yes.
The Bible also says he who hates his brother is a murderer at heart. Have I hated someone? Yes.
Have I committed blasphemy by using God’s name nonchalantly? Yes.
Have I dishonoured my parents? Yes.
Am I a hypocrite? Yes.
So what does that make me?

A lying, thieving, adulterous, murderous, blasphemous, dishonouring hypocrite at heart.

And that’s only 6 of the 10 commandments that we’ve gone through, let alone the rest in the Bible.

We have fallen to sin, and we deserve God’s wrath. Because of sin, we’re all constantly on the Highway to Hell: eternal separation from God. So many times I feel like saying, “I let you down so times, but I can’t ever tell you this. There’s no forgiving it.”

I can’t speak for everyone else, but I sin daily. Daily. I am undeserving of many things, after the things I’ve done, the things I’ve said, the things I’ve thought. But most of all, I’m undeserving of His Grace.

The other day in band, we played just a simple scale, and played it like it was nothing more. My teacher said do it again, and make some music. So we did.

“What the freak was that??” he said. I thought we did something wrong and another smack down was on the way, but he continued on to say how undeserving he is to be able to say one phrase and BAM we go from brutal to brilliant in a matter of 30 seconds or less. In his admirable humility and modesty he went on to say how unworthy and not good enough of a teacher he is, and that it’s all us, and we should focus like that all the time, etc. but that’s beside the point.

WE ARE UNDESERVING!!! It is not by OUR works that we are saved. People don’t go from brutal to brilliant, sinful to saved, because of what THEY THEMSELVES have done. It is not by prayer, by church attendance, by confessing, by having a good personality, by being/doing good, by not doing bad, NOT BY DOING that we are saved. None of that.

Jesus, who had it all in Heaven, angels praising Him and worshipping saying holy, holy, came down to Earth and listened to His own creation call out, “CRUCIFY HIM! CRUCIFY HIM!” He was not afraid of what MEN would do to him, he was not afraid of the roman nails or the criminal death on a tree that he would die. He was afraid of the cup of God’s wrath (that was meant for us) poured out on Him. The wrath incurred by the sins of AN ENTIRE PEOPLE across time, poured out on a single person. The pain in the physical? Just a paper cut compared to the pain and suffering Jesus endured in the spiritual. All for what?

YOU. AND. ME.

Imagine one man standing by a dam 1000km wide and 1000 km tall, holding back more water than the 7 seas contain, and then suddenly that dam was taken away, and the water exploded out, right where that one man stood. That’s the size of God’s Wrath. But why does God even have a wrath if He’s supposed to be loving? God is just, and sin must be punished. But God is loving, merciful and gracious, because of what Christ did.

Even after we sin daily, even after all the displeasing things we’ve done to God, after all the times we’ve disappointed Him, He chooses to forgive us, because Christ has paid the price.

For all have sinned, and fall short of the Glory of God.

Romans 3:23

For the wages of sin is death.

Romans 6:23

But God demonstrates His love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

While we were still sinners. We can’t save ourselves. We’ve done unforgivable things and yet, WE ARE FORGIVEN if we accept Jesus Christ as our personal Lord and Saviour to advocate for us.

I know I keep referring to this song, but it’s always just so fitting:

Because a sinless saviour died
My sinful should is counted free
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me.

I forgot who said it, but, “preach the Gospel at all times, use words when necessary.”

1100

Leave a Reply

