Esther 4:14

Re-post. One of my first exposures to Bible Study… This one was among the first, if not the first, to really resonate with me. When I posted this, it was the beginning of a three year journey in the search for purpose.


If you keep quiet at a time like this, deliverance and relief for the Jews will arise from some other place, but you and your relatives will die. Who knows if perhaps you were made queen for such a time as this? (NLT)

Esther 4:14

There’s a story in my bible (the girls life application bible) relating to this verse, and it’s really touching…

Softball was my life! Everyday I had practice; every weekend I had games of tournaments. Sometimes we traveled for days at a time to regional games or state championships. My whole life – even my friends – revolved around softball.

I never got to hang our with other school friends and church friends. I never got to do other fun activities. My whole identity was “Jade the softball player.”

One day my wrist started hurting. I tried to ignore it, but eventually I had to go to the doctor. My life changed when I heard these words: “Your ligaments are torn. You’ll need surgery. You won’t be able to play softball for a year, maybe more.”

That was the worst thing that could have happened to me. No more softball, no more scholarship… all I ever knew and wanted was gone! But that year I gained friendships I had never been able to enjoy before. I started attending my youth group at church and going on fun outings with my new church friends. I began helping little kids at an inner city mission that my church was involved with. I had never felt happier in my life!

A year later my wrist got better. All of a sudden I realized that if I went back to the life of softball, I would slowly be removing myself from the church family that I had grown to love.

My decision was clear. I wasn’t going to be “Jade the softball player” anymore. Church, my Christian friends, and my service at the mission were far too important.

What I thought was the worst tragedy of my life ended up being the biggest blessing. God puts us in certain situations for a reason. We just need to take advantage of those “opportunities.”

Be encouraged.

1100

Leave a Reply

